As my time on the islands comes to an end I thought I’d reflect on all the lessons this journey has taught me.

1. Take Risks

IMG_1369

Moving to Hawaii was abrupt, uncertain and a true challenge but it was 100% worth it. When I got the job in Kauai, we moved 2 weeks later from New York! We weren’t sure our apartment was legit or our roommate sane. It turned out to be perfect with 3 lanais and our roommate will forever be a lifelong friend! Love you Matt!

2. Take your shoes off before entering any home

3. Smile and wave at your neighbors

4. Swim and hike for exercise 

IMG_2274

5. Realize when stress is no good

IMG_1289

6. Know when to leave

IMG_2045

7. Don’t give up

IMG_1176

8. Go to concerts and meet your future aloha friends

9. Do all the things you’re afraid of

DCIM100GOPRO

I was terrified to go scuba diving with Andrew. We went for his birthday last year and I’m so glad we did. Though I worried I’d drown – I did get to see the majestic Hawaiian monk seals. 

10. Swim with sea turtles

DCIM100GOPRO

11. Go to the beach

IMG_1574

12. Wear zinc sunscreen & reapply

IMG_1297

13. Eat all the local food

14. Learn about Hawaiian culture from people who identify as Hawaiian/Polynesian 

IMG_1199

15. Give and receive leis to express aloha, love, gratitude and a job well done. 

IMG_5041

16. Share your home with friends even if that means they have to sleep in a tent

IMG_4873

17. Let people into your heart

16681479_10210074887682793_269215441444824470_n

18. Be the aloha you want to see in the world 

IMG_1778

I have been nervous about moving back to the mainland. About the attitudes and demeanor I grew up around. Hawaii has been such a calm and welcoming place. On my last day of work my coworkers reminded me that I am aloha and to share it with the world. I plan to do just that.

Aloha and mahalo!

Comment, like, follow, share.

ox,

Leslie

2 thoughts on “18 lessons learned from 18 months in Hawaii

Leave a Reply

