The 75th Anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor is December 7, 2016. Over the Thanksgiving break my family-in-love and I visited the USS Arizona Memorial, which is the resting place of 1,102 of the 1,177 sailors and Marines killed on December 7, 1941 at Pearl Harbor, Honolulu, Hawaii. I didn’t know what to expect or think as I entered the memorial. It is a beautiful white arch with gigantic windows created above the sunken Arizona Battleship. I don’t have any close ties to WWII or Pearl Harbor but hearing the stories of the survivors was moving. It was a powerful moment to remember the event; the lives lost and reflect on all that I’m thankful for. The visit to the memorial was an opportunity to be grateful for the life I am privileged to live and a reminder to do ALL THE THINGS those soldiers could not.

Happy December 1, 2016. The year is almost up and I think many of you can agree with me, it’s been a challenging year, which means there’s plenty to learn and grow from. Personally, I’ve learned more of what I don’t like, go figure. All my mentors informed me this would happen once I entered the workforce. Specifically, I have an issue with offices, not really sitting in front of a computer all day, but the lack of flexibility that comes with a desk job. I know it’s stable and I’m still very conventional when I think of success and being an adult but NO. I do not want to work in an office my whole life unless it’s MY office. So there’s something! I probably should start my own thing. Once I figure out what it is I’ll share it with you but for now I will continue to work for other people doing awesome, important work and absorb as much as I can.

I also learned what I need in terms of wellness. I need to workout at least 4 days a week to balance my appetite and stay flexin’. Exercise is incredibly important to me. I didn’t discover my connection to it until college and well I’ve still got some catching up to do. I am attracted to the idea of living a healthy, pain-free, long life. This year I incorporated exercise and wellness into my desk job by:

  1. Setting an alarm every 30 minutes that reminds me to get up and take a stroll.
  2. I got a balance ball that I bounce on for half the day which has significantly improved my posture, lower back muscles and makes me feel silly.
  3. I made a standing desk that can be mounted and dismounted when desired. Lessons learned: standing hurts my feet, sitting hurts my shoulders and a standing desk is great when you want to dance while doing mundane work. Standing desks are not good for complicated work. They are great for answering the phone.
  4. I introduced a jump rope to my office which is in use before lunch and whenever the AC is extremely cold and I need to get my blood going.
  5. Preparing lunches at home is essential for your health and pocket but annoying and time-consuming. I’m always glad when I do it and frustrated when I don’t.

Who said reflections have to be super deep and meaningful? Reflection is for figuring out what works for you and matters to you. Hopefully, that realization causes you to live a better life and not regret the decisions you make.

Time goes by so fast! I can and can’t believe its December y’all! For the most part it’s been a fantastic year. I am grateful I had shelter, food, work, beach, friends and love for the last 365 days. What more could I ask for?

Has December 1st induced any reflections out of you?

Comment below, like, follow, share.

ox,

Leslie

P.S. Up above is a sweet pic of my love and I at the Arizona Memorial – happy to be alive and together.

Leave a Reply

